Charlie Yates

Charles Richardson Yates was an American amateur golfer. He is noted for winning the 1938 Amateur Championship, captaining the United States Walker Cup team and being the long-time Secretary of Augusta National Golf Club. He was the Georgia State Amateur in 1931 and 1932, NCAA individual title in 1934, Western Amateur in 1935. In 1936 and 1938, he played on the U.S. Walker Cup Team. In 1953, he was captain of the Walker Cup Team, and was named honorary captain in 1985.

In 1980, Charlie was presented with the Bob Jones Award by the United States Golf Association. Yates was inducted into the Georgia Golf Hall of Fame on 1989 and served as Secretary of the Augusta National Golf Club.