Creation of Phi Delta Theta Sports Hall of Fame


Baseball has Cooperstown, New York; football has Canton, Ohio; basketball can be found in Springfield, Massachusetts, and hockey in Toronto, Canada. But in June of 2010, Orlando’s General Convention hosted the Phi Delta Theta Sports Hall of Fame unveiling.

Phi Delta Theta created the Sports Hall of Fame to honor and recognize members of Phi Delta Theta who impacted the world of amateur, collegiate, or professional sports while living and exhibiting the three Cardinal Principles of the Fraternity.

The inaugural class was recognized during the opening session of the 78th Biennial Convention during an extraordinary awards ceremony honoring Lou Gehrig, Ritter Collett, Tom Harmon, Grantland Rice, Harry Kalas, Gary Bender, and Mike Mathis.

View the historical list of Phi Delta Theta Sports Hall of Fame members.