Survey Commission Created


Phi Delta Theta added nine strong chapters during the 1920s: Montana, Kansas State, Colorado State, Arizona, Southern Methodist, Florida, the University of California at Los Angeles, West Virginia, and Davidson. At the same time, the tradition-rich chapter at the University of Mississippi was re-established.

The Survey Commission, created in 1922, was now a working part of Phi Delta Theta’s organization. Its five members had an exciting and essential task to appraise the college scene throughout the United States and Canada and determine which institutions offered the best prospects for new chapters of the Fraternity.